Spring Hill Historic Home
Spring Hill farm was settled by prominent New England Quakers, Thomas and Charity Rotch. Guests can tour the Rotch's 1821 home and discover its unique features, artifacts, furnishings and history. The site's sixteen acres include woods, fields, gardens and four original outbuildings. Spring Hill is proud to be part of the National Parks Service's Underground Railroad Network to Freedom. A nearly $275,000 restoration project of the home, garage and smoke house was completed in Janurary, 2013.
June - October 2017: The first weekend of every month will be focused on Guided tours, led by our very knowledgeable docents. All other weekends will allow guests to explore the home on their own with the assistance of our audio tours! Audio tours rotate, but will focus on the house and family history, the history of slavery, and the history of the Underground Railroad. These tours are perfect for those who want to have more flexibility in their visit and those who like to directly chose what they are exploring.
Tours will run from on Saturdays and Sundays starting June 3rd through the beginning of October from 1:00-4:00pm with the last tour each day beginning approximately one hour before closing time. Adults can tour the home for $5, seniors (65 and up) for $4, Students for $4, Children (6 and under) are free. Members of Spring Hill Historic Home can tour the home for free.